Red list countries: Full list of holiday destinations expected to be included in travel ban

MORE countries are expected to be added to the UK's red list today, which bans all non-essential travel.

Here are the full list of countries which Brits will not be able to travel to.

? Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest updates

Which countries are on the red list?

The countries currently on the red list are:

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Brazil
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Ethiopia
  • Eswatini
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • Somalia
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Turkey
  • UAE
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

The following countries are expected to be added later today:

  • Afghanistan
  • Egypt
  • Sri Lanka 

What are the red list travel rules?

People travelling to the UK from red list countries will have to quarantine in a specialist hotel on arrival.

A mandatory 10-day stay in one of these hotels will cost travellers £1,750 each.

If passengers leave the quarantine hotel before their 10 days are up, they will be handed a £5,000 coronavirus fine, but this figure can increase up to £10,000.

Travellers coming into England from the red list countries have to book a stay at a quarantine hotel through an online booking platform.

An individual travelling alone will have to pay £1,750 for their ten-day stay, which includes the cost of the hotel, transport from the airport and testing.

However, a second person sharing a room will pay £650, making the total £2,400 for two. The rate for children will be £325.

Passengers are only be able to enter through small number of ports, and they will then be escorted to select hotels that will be closed to general members of the public.

Guests remain in their rooms and not mix with anyone else, with visible security in place.

In addition to their negative Covid test before arrival into England, they then have to take a second and third test on day two and day eight after they enter the country.

Here is the full list of countries on the green list and amber list too, with Portugal being removed from the green list.

The next travel update is expected to take place in three weeks – on June 21.

But there is no guarantee more countries will be added to the list – and there is every chance some may be taken off.

    Source: Read Full Article