What day is New Year's Day 2019, is January 1 a bank holiday and how can you say happy new year in different languages?

Here's everything you need to know about the worldwide celebrations to kickstart 2018.

What day is New Year's Day 2019 and is January 1 a bank holiday?

This year New Year's Day falls on Tuesday, January 1.

It is celebrated the night before with drinks, parties and fireworks across 24 different time zones.

Samoa, Tonga and Kiritimati, part of the 33 Kiribati islands in the Pacific Ocean Polynesian Traingle, were the first places to welcome the new year at 10am UK time on New Year's Eve.

American Samoa and Baker Island in the United States of America are among the last to mark the end of the 12-months of the year.

January 1 is a bank holiday for UK residents.

How do you say happy new year in different languages?

Here's how to say Happy New Year in 16 languages:

Welsh – Blwyddyn Newydd Dda

Chinese Mandarin – Xin Nian Kuai Le – (pronounced sheen nian kwai luh)

Chinese Cantonese – San Nin Fai Lok – (pronounced san knee fy lock)

Czech – Sťastný nový rok

Danish – Godt nytår

Dutch – Gelukkig nieuwjaar

Finnish – Hyvää uutta vuotta

French Bonne année

German – Frohes neues Jahr

Italian – Felice anno nuovo

Japanese (pre-midnight) – 良いお年を – Yoi otoshi o

Japanese (after midnight) – 明けましておめでとうございます – Akemashite omedetou gozaimasu

Norwegian – Godt nytt år

Polish – Szczesliwego Nowego Roku

Portuguese – Feliz Ano Novo

Russian – S novym godom

Spanish – Feliz año nuevo

Swedish – Gott nytt år

Source: Read Full Article