Sundance Film Festival Awards Ceremony Underway With Patton Oswalt Hosting – Watch

Refresh for updates: The 2021 Sundance Film Festival awards are happening right now and you can watch them below, with this year’s virtual edition hosted by Patton Oswalt, or as he called himself tonight “Discount Giamatti”.

“I have a busy evening, I’ll be hosting the Slamdance Festival later on the WIFI they’ll be stealing from you,” quipped the Young Adult actor.

And making an aside, Oswalt joked, “So, they’re not letting anyone back in the hotel because Steve Buscemi stole all the towels.”

There will also be special appearance by Alison Brie, Shira Haas and Diego Luna.

This year’s jurors over the shortened festival, which kicked off on Thursday Jan. 28 and runs through today, were Zeynep Atakan, Raúl Castillo, Ashley Clark, Julie Dash, Tacita Dean, Cynthia Erivo, Isaac Julien, Inge de Leeuw, Kim Longinotto, Laura Mulleavy, Kate Mulleavy, Joshua Oppenheimer, Mohamed Ouma Saïd, Jean Tsien, Daniela Vega, Lana Wilson, and Hanya Yanagihara.

Last year, Lee Isaac Chung’s Minari, which is in the awards conversation this year from A24, took home both the U.S. Grand Jury Prize and the Audience Award in U.S. Dramatic. Netflix’s Crip Camp won the U.S. Doc Audience Award category, while AppleTV acquisition Boys State won the Grand Jury Documentary Award.

Flee, which was acquired by NEON, is taking home the World Cinema Documentary Grand Jury Prize.

Early on in the night, Akinola Davies, Jr.’s Lizard took the Grand Jury Prize in the Shorts category. The movie follows Juwon, an 8-year-old girl with an ability to sense danger, gets ejected from Sunday school service. She unwittingly witnesses the underbelly in and around a megachurch in Lagos. 

By the end of tonight, 31 prizes will have been handed out by the festival:

U.S. Grand Jury Prize – Dramatic 

U.S. Grand Jury Prize – Documentary

Directing Award – U.S. Dramatic 

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: U.S. Dramatic

Directing Award: U.S. Documentary

Editing Award: U.S. Documentary

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Awards

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Awards

U.S. Competition Awards

World Cinema Audience Awards

World Cinema Dramatic
Jury Award for Acting goes to Jesmark Scicluna in Luzzu.
Special Jury Award: One for the Road, dir. Baz Poonpiriya



World Cinema Documentary
World Cinema Jury Prize – FleeJonas Poher Rasmussen
Directing Award: Hogir Hirori for Sabaya
Special Jury Award in Impact for Change — Writing With Fire, dir. Rintu Thomas
Special Jury Award in Verite Filmmaking —President, dir. Camilla Nielsson


Audience Award – Ma Belle, My Beauty, dir. Marion Hill

Innovator Award – Cryptozoo, dir. Dash Shaw

Short Film

–Short Film Grand Jury Prize – Lizard, dir. Akinola Davies, Jr.

–Short Film Jury Award – U.S. Fiction – The Touch of the Master’s Handsdir. Gregory Barnes

–Special Short Film Acting Award, Wiggle Room, Deanna Gibson

–Short Film Special Jury Award – Screenwriting, The Criminals, dir. Serhat Karasslan

–Short Film Special Jury Award, Animation – Souvenir Souvenir, dir. Bastien Dubois

–Short Film Jury Award Nonfiction – Don’t Go Tellin’ Your Momma, dir. Topaz Jones and Rubberband

–Short Film Jury Award – International Fiction – Bambirak, dir. Zamarin Wahdat

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Feature Film Prize
Sons of Monarch, dir. Alexis Gambis

Sundance Institute / Adobe Mentorship Award for Editing
–Fiction, Terilyn Shropshire
–Nonfiction, Juli Vizza

Amazon Studios Producers Award for Nonfiction:
Philly D.A., dir. Nicole Salazar

Sundance Institute NHK Award
Motherhood, dir. Meryam Joobeur

Gayle Stevens Volunteer Award
Rebecca Stover


Read More About:

Source: Read Full Article